Archiving or Restoring a Job

By changing a job'sA job is the overall project that you or your organisation works on for a client. job stateJob states usually match the stages in your company's job workflow, such as Planned, In Progress or Completed. By adding notifications to each job state, you can communicate to key people how a job is progressing - and when it's time for them to take action. to Completed or Cancelled, the job will no longer be visible in the list of active jobs in the Job Manager All tab. The job will be visible only in the Archive tab. This is a convenient way of reducing the number of jobs listed in the All tab.

The Archive tab

All current and previous jobs (apart from deleted jobs) can be found in the Job Manager Archive tab.

When you first open the Archive tab, you may see no jobs displayed. This is because you need to use both the basic and Advanced Search Options to see jobs in the archive.

Advanced search options

By using a combination of the basic and the Advanced Search Options on the Archive or Search tab, you can filter the jobs so that only a subset is displayed.

Archiving a job

To ensure that a job appears only in the Archive tab:

  1. In the Jobs menu, select Jobs
  2. On the Job Manager screen, select the All, My or Managed By tab, as required.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • Hover over the job's State drop-down list to display the Quick Edit pane. Set the Job State to Completed (Cancelled is not available in the Quick Edit pane). If you cannot see the Quick Edit pane, you may not have the correct access privileges. See security access to Quick Edit pane.
    or
    1. Drill down on the job number of the job you wish to archive.
    2. Click Edit Job and in the State drop-down list, select Completed or Cancelled and Save. The job will now appear only on the Archive tab of the Job Manager screen.

Restoring a job

To restore a job with a Job State of Completed or Cancelled so that it appears in the All tab:

  1. In the Jobs menu, select Jobs
  2. On the Job Manager screen, select the Archive tab.
  3. Drill down on the job number of the job you wish to restore.
  4. Click Edit Job and in the State drop-down list, select an active job state such as Planned or On Hold and Save. The job will appear on the All tab of the Job Manager screen.

It is not possible to restore a job with a Job State of Completed or Cancelled directly to the All tab, but you can copy it to use as the basis for a new job.

To create a new job from an Completed or Cancelled job in the archive:

  1. In the Jobs menu, select Jobs
  2. On the Job Manager screen, select the Archive tab.
  3. On the Archive tab, search for the job you wish to work with.
  4. Drill down on the job number of the job.
  5. On the job information screen, selection Options > Copy Job. The New Job screen is displayed.
  6. Complete the job information then Save. For further details, see Copying a job.

Related Tasks

Deleting a job

Related Topics Link IconRelated Topics