Importing Clients

Use these instructions to import generic CSV or TXT data for clients and contacts.

Before you begin

Before you import data into WorkflowMax, you need to prepare a suitable import file.

Setting up an import file

To set up an import file, do one of the following:

Notes on import data for clients

  • Make sure that you have removed any columns that do not contain data. This is especially important if you are using the Update Existing? option, as blank fields will replace existing non-blank data.
  • If your data contains more than 500 rows, split the data into multiple files and import each separately.
  • If the ContactName column is present and has a value, then that contact and their details will be imported. To import multiple contacts, repeat the client name, but with different contact details. Make sure that you select the Update Existing checkbox if you are importing multiple contacts, otherwise only the first contact is imported.
  • Although it is not possible to import a client with the same name as an existing client, it is possible to manually create multiple clients with the same name (by using Clients > New). Once there is more than one active (or archived) client with the same name, it is no longer possible to use Update Existing to import changes using that client name.
  • To update an existing client in WorkflowMax - with an address change, for example - select the Update Existing checkbox.

    A client record will be updated only when the Name on the import file matches an existing client Name.

Importing the data

To import client data into WorkflowMax:

  1. In the Business menu, select Settings > Import.
  2. On the Import screen, provide the following information, as required.
    FieldDescription
    Options
    File Type

    The type of file that you wish to import. Select Generic - Client.

    File Format

    The format is either CSV or tab-delimited.

    Update Existing?

    Controls whether existing data is overwritten with newly imported information.

    • Select this checkbox if you want existing information to be overwritten with any new information.
    • Clear this checkbox to prevent existing information from being overwritten with any new information.
    File

    Choose the file on your computer that you wish to import.

    Job Import Options

    This section is required only if you are importing job data.

  3. Import the data. The number of rows successfully imported is displayed at the foot of the screen. If there were any errors during the import, they will be displayed at the foot of the screen.

Related Topics Link IconRelated Topics

Setting up WorkflowMax